United Kingdom flag United Kingdom: Business Environment

Industrial and commercial standards in the United Kingdom


The information in this section is subject to change and regular updating during the UK's post-Brexit transition period. We will publish the updated information as soon as it becomes available.
National Standards Organisations
BSI Group, British Standards Institution
Integration in the International Standards Network
The UK is a member of the International Organisation for Standardisation and a full member of the International Electrotechnical Commission. It is also a member state of the International Telecommunication Union.
All EU standards remain in place until 31 December 2020, the date by which ends the transition period for the negotiation of a possible new trade arrangement between the UK and the EU. For the detail on possible future changes regarding certificates, authorisations, markings or labelling which take effect from 1 January 2021 following the UK's withdrawal from the EU and the end of the transition period please consult the European Commission's ‘BREXIT READINESS CHECKLIST’ FOR COMPANIES DOING BUSINESS WITH THE UK.
The UK continues therefore to be a member of the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardisation (CENELEC), European Telcommunications Standards Institute (ETSI), European Committee for Standardisation (ECS), until the 31 December 2020, and remains to be seen whether the country continues its membership beyond that date.
Classification of Standards
There are over 27,000 British Standards in use and 2,000 are produced annually. CE is the European certification mark. It is compulsory for a country to be able to sell on the market. (Subject to change following the UK's withdrawal from the EU on the 31 December 2020).
Online Consultation of Standards
The BSI Shop offers a full catalogue of standards and publications, many of which are available as PDF downloads; on-line catalog of European Standards; ISO catalog; IEC catalog.
Certification Organisations
The United Kingdom Accreditation Service. Follow this link for a list of accreditation standards

Return to top

Any Comment About This Content? Report It to Us.


© eexpand, All Rights Reserved.
Latest Update: July 2024